The Santa Maria delle Grazie was built between 1466 and 1490 to a design by architect Guiniforte Solari. The design of the church’s apse was commissioned by Ludovico il Moro, Duke of Milan, and was later revisited by Donato Bramante. The work of the famous Renaissance architect can be seen in the splendid tribune and in the other two gems of the Church, namely the Cloisters and the Old Sacristy. Next to the Santa Maria delle Grazie entrance in what was the monastery’s refectory is Leonardo da Vinci’s “Last Supper”, initiated in 1494 and completed some two years later. Leonardo created the painting using a special tempera that he himself had invented and which still, today, presents a challenge to the best restoration techniques. Unfortunately because of the medium used, the work began to deteriorate some twenty years after it was painted, and so over the years numerous restoration attempts have been made to restore and preserve it. Always in the refectory, on the wall facing the Cenacolo, also particularly worthy of note is the “Crucifixion” (1495) by Giovanni Donato Montorfano.
Piazza Santa Maria delle Grazie
M1 Conciliazione, M1-M2 Cadorna FN, M2 Sant’Ambrogio